Reckless drivers harm thousands of people in Florida annually. Florida statute 316.192 defines reckless driving as any action by a driver that puts others at risk. If convicted, the charge stays on your record for 75 years. A driver can be fined up to $500 the first time they are found guilty. A judge must automatically order the person into drug treatment if drugs or alcohol may have been a factor. A person trying to flee from law enforcement is automatically charged with reckless driving.
What are some common reckless driving examples?
Reckless driving occurs when someone operates a vehicle in a manner that endangers the public. Therefore, if a Florida sandstorm drastically reduces visibility, a law enforcement officer can charge a driver with reckless driving while the driver is still going under the posted speed limit. More common examples include﹕
• Improper lane changes
• Following too closely
• Failing to yield right of way
• Improper passing
• Going the wrong direction in a lane or divided highway
• Road rage
Do fines increase if you are found guilty of reckless driving more than once?
The consequences can increase each subsequent time a person is found guilty of reckless driving. For example, the fine can rise to $1,000 for a second charge. Additionally, the person can be sentenced to a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in prison.
Common injuries caused by reckless driving accidents
Suppose you are involved in a motor vehicle accident with a reckless driver. In that case, you may receive spinal cord injuries, be disfigured, receive brain injuries, need to have a body part amputated, have bruising and need to heal from broken bones.
Reckless driving is driving in any manner that is unsafe and often results in accidents.