Renting a car can be a great way to get around Florida, especially when you are on vacation or taking a business trip. However, an accident can happen at any moment, whether it is your fault or someone else’s. On top of the physical and emotional toll, the cost of damages can be high.
The state of Florida has very specific laws when it comes to rental car accidents. From the insurance process to legal implications, there are many factors to consider.
Liability for rental car companies
Rental car companies have a cap on their exposure to liability when an accident takes place. For each death or injury, the maximum exposure is $10,000. For each accident, the total cannot be higher than $20,000 (regardless of how many fatalities or injuries occurred). You may have to cover the remainder of the damages if it exceeds this amount.
Liability for car dealerships
If you get in an accident with a loaner vehicle from a car dealership, you may be liable for the damages. This is especially the case if the dealership has a rental or use agreement in writing, a copy of your driver’s license and a copy of your car insurance information. However, if you can show that the dealership is responsible for the accident in some way, you could have a case.
A car accident can have devastating consequences, and the aftermath can be rather confusing if you were driving a rental. By understanding how Florida handles these situations, you can get a better idea of what your responsibilities are.